Salem, OR – Effective Jan.1, 2017, the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services determined an assessment rate of 6.8 percent of direct earned premium is necessary for the department to carry out its statutory responsibility to regulate, administer, and enforce the workers’ compensation and occupational safety and health laws of the state of Oregon (see ORS 656.612 and OAR 440-045-0020). This rate is an increase of 0.6 percentage points from the 2016 rate.
This assessment funds the operations of the Workers’ Compensation Division, the Workers’ Compensation Board, most of Oregon-OSHA, a portion of the Division of Financial Regulation, and other parts of the Department of Consumer and Business Services that support these activities.
An additional assessment of 0.2 percent for self-insured employers and public-sector self-insured employer groups, and 1.0 percent for private-sector self-insured employer groups is required to fund the Self-Insured Employer Adjustment Reserve and the Self-Insured Employer Group Adjustment Reserve (ORS 656.614 and OAR 440-045-0025).
These rates apply to all premium earned on or after Jan. 1, 2017. Insurers should refer to Bulletin 144 for payment instructions. Self-insured employers and self-insured employer groups should refer to Bulletin 374. These bulletins are available on the WCD website.
The complete bulletin including rate charts can be viewed here (PDF), and replaces Bulletin 367 issued Oct. 22, 2015.
Source: OR DCBS