Juneau, AK – On May 17, 2016, Governor Walker recently signed Senate Bill 148 into law. The legislation brings Alaska’s workplace accident reporting requirements in line with federal standards by requiring notice within 8 hours of an employer becoming aware of an incident involving the loss of an eye or an amputation. The new law has an immediate effective date.
Alaska’s workplace accident reporting requirements now require reporting within 8 hours of an employer becoming aware of the following incidents:
- A fatality of one or more employees
- Overnight hospitalization of one or more employees
- Loss of an eye
- Amputation of a body part
“This new law will improve workplace safety in Alaska by ensuring timely investigations can be conducted to identify the causes of accidents and how to avoid future occurrences,” said Labor Commissioner Heidi Drygas.
Employers may report accidents in person or by telephone to Alaska Occupational Safety and Health offices in Anchorage, Juneau, or Fairbanks or by calling 1-800-770-4940 or 1-800-321-6742 (evenings, weekends and holidays).
Employers may request cost-free assistance from the department’s Consultation and Training Program to help ensure compliance with workplace safety and health standards without incurring enforcement activities and penalties. For more information, contact 1-800-656-4972.
Source: AK DOL