June 12, 2018

SFM’s Beth Baker Elected Secretary/Treasurer of ACOEM Board of Directors

Bloomington, MN – SFM Medical Consultant Beth Baker, M.D., MPH, FACOEM, was elected secretary/treasurer for the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, and started in the new role in April.

The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) represents more than 4,500 healthcare providers and is the nation’s largest medical society dedicated to promoting worker health.

“The ACOEM plays a leading role in advancing worker health and safety, and it’s an honor to serve as an officer,” Baker said.

Baker was also named to a three-year term as the occupational medicine representative on the American Board of Preventive Medicine Board of Directors, which begins in August.

Baker obtained her medical degree and master’s in public health from the University of Minnesota, and is board certified in occupational medicine, medical toxicology and internal medicine. She joined SFM in January 2001.

She was a staff physician at the HealthPartners Occupational Medicine Residency for 18 years and was a prior residency director. She is president and founder of Medical and Toxicology Consulting Services, Ltd., and has served as a consultant for SFM, 3M, Canadian Pacific Railway, University of Minnesota Employee Health Services and Fairview Employee Health Services. She is currently the chief medical officer for Canadian Pacific Railway. She is a past chair of Minnesota’s Medical Services Review Board and is currently a board member. She is also an adjunct assistant professor at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health and co-director of its Occupational and Environmental Medicine course. She also chairs the Residency Review Committee for Preventive Medicine and is a member of the Exam Writing Committee for the American Board of Preventive Medicine.

Baker is Fellow of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine and the American College of Medical Toxicology. She received the Minnesota Medical Association’s Presidents Award in 2014.

Source: SFM Mutual

  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn